BREATHING AGAIN

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

 

i was so lucky to be able to spend this past week back in katerini, greece volunteering with the evangelical church in greece there. i last visited six months ago, in august, back when their work with refugees was just beginning. this time, i got to see it flourishing.

this trip to greece has reignited my passion for this place and these people. every since i first stepped foot in greece five years ago something in me changed.

a part of my heart will always be here, and i’ll only ever get it back when i return to this place of ancient earth and seas. when i am here i feel full in a way that i experience nowhere else in the world – it’s like i’m finally able to breathe again and my lungs are only now able to fill themselves to the capacity they crave.

it sounds dramatic, i know, but if you’ve ever been to greece you may know what i’m talking about. it’s a magical land that takes hold of you so easily and never quite lets go.

over the following days, I’ll be sharing posts from my trip back to katerini – written during my time thereย and then posted retroactively now thatย I’ve had a chance to edit them. i hope you enjoy my daily notes and musings, and feel free to ask questions if you have them! i had a spectacular time serving in katerini and i would love to engage with you all more about my time there!

 

 

