SETTLING IN

my home for the next 11 months: an adorable two bedroom apartment in this barn with a classic new england-y windmill right outside my window. how lovely!

my home for the next 11 months: an adorable two bedroom apartment in this barn with a classic new england-y windmill right outside my window. how lovely!

 

i’m almost two weeks into my YASC experience and this place in new england is finally beginning to feel like home.

i get done with work and am relieved to pull into the driveway, knowing that a cozy couch and some wine are waiting for me just inside the door. i wake up in the morning and sit outside on the sun drenched back porch to brush my teeth and wake up. i lay back in my room before bed watching netflix, my christmas lights turned on for a cozy glow and my window open so i can see the windmill and feel the breeze on my face.

all the little things are finally coming together.

i’ve hung snapshots of me and my family and friends on my walls. my two twin beds are covered in a mass of brightly colored blankets and pillows, cozy and just waiting for me to fall down into them. i’ve picked my favorite chair and rearranged the coffee table so it’s the perfect distance for me to put my feet up on it when i’m lounging and writing blog posts like this.

there’s definitely been a learning curve though.

i’ve mastered the washer and dryer, and now know that i can’t fit nearly as much in my ones here as i could in my ones back in ohio. i’ve learned to not use the regular coffee maker because it bubbles water out and all over the counter (note to self: buy a new coffee maker!). i’ve noticed that my door doesn’t actually have a latch to shut, so when i sleep i have to put something in front of it so i don’t wake up, hair tousled and unkempt, to an open door where someone could be standing and staring at me. (this last one is highly unlikely, but you never know!)

the townspeople actually know who i am now, which i’m counting as a huge success.

i met with a congregant to plan the religious education class that we’re co-teaching (world religions for middle schoolers!!), and when i was at the grocery store later he saw me from afar and literally yelled out a greeting. the women who work at the bank greet me with a huge smile when i walk in and ask how life in “the barn” (as they fondly call the apartment) is going. the other day i wandered into the clothing store/art gallery across the street and was invited to both a wine night soiree and a winter wilderness training activity in boston. the people here are so open and genuine.

of course there’s still work to be done, like figuring out the best time to go buy groceries and actually remembering to buy a basil plant the next time i leave the house. but that will all happen in time.

for now, i’m just happy to be here. in this place. in this time. with these people who are journeying with me through this transformative year, whether they know they’re part of my journey or not.

i’m starting to get settled, and that’s enough for me.

 

