COUNTDOWN: ONE MONTH

in just under a month i will be moving in to my new home in westford, massachusets. i will be lugging all of my belongings into my new bedroom. i will be hanging clothes in the closet and putting pj’s in dresser drawers. and, most importantly, i will be beginning my next step in life.

i’m still not sure exactlyyy where i’ll be staying. miriam (my fellow UCC volunteer and soon-to-be roommate) and i think that we’ll be living in a carriage-house-type-thing out behind a super huge built-in-the-1800’s beauty of a main house. hopefully we’re correct! but really, who knows, because we could show up and find out that we’ve been assigned a small apartment inside the main house (which used to be a retirement home back in the 50’s) and will have neighbors living in the other side of the house. personally, i’m hoping for the carriage house. nothing against all the people that i’ve lived next door to in college (i love you freshman girls from last year!), but i’m quite ready to live in a building of my own. well, “building of my own” that i just so happen to share with a roommate haha.

so, less than 30 days to go! and have i started packing yet? absolutely not. of course, throughout the summer i’ve been stocking up on the on-sale essentials that i’ll take with me: flowy tank tops, my favorite face wash, storage containers, hiking shoes, a carry-on piece of luggage (for my “job training” type trip to california a day after i arrive in MA) etc. but thankfully, since the living arrangements will come fully furnished, really all i have to bring with me are my clothes, sheets, and toiletries. when i say it like that it makes packing sound wondrously simple, but i know that once i begin i’ll just keep packing shit into my car until it’s full to bursting. at least, that’s what i’m picturing comically in my head. hopefully when i go to begin my trek to MA on august 31st my little volvo isn’t weighed down too much!!

 

here's a screenshot of what pops up when i use google maps to check out my new home. front and center is the large main house and in the background to the left is the carriage-house-type-thing!

here’s a screenshot of what pops up when i use google maps to check out my new home. front and center is the large main house and in the background to the left is the carriage-house-type-thing!

 

 

