LEAVING GREECE

leaving greece was literally one of the hardest things i’ve ever had to do. to say goodbye to a place that has come to mean so much to me, that has become such a part of me, that has done so much for me, it was insane.

after taking the night ferry to athens and staying in a hotel there with madeline and lindsay we were off to the airport the very next day. they were headed home, i was headed to rome. despite the fact that i was preparing to jet off on a week long vacation to italy i was still in a terrible mood the entire day.

within 24 hours my entire world was turned upside down. i no longer had my own apartment, with amazing friends living just upstairs. i could no longer day drink on the beach with my gals! i could no longer stroll along the aegean to become inspired if i was having a bad day. all this had changed, and i was never going to get it back.

basically my day in transit to rome was a (pardon my language) complete and total mindfuck. i was all out of sorts, my emotions raging up and down and up and down. all at once i was missing paros, excited to see JJ and rome, wanting to go home, wishing that my HISA girls were traveling with me, and desperately wishing to not be stuck in the athens airport for 6 hours waiting on a dang flight.

i’m finally in rome though! my emotions have calmed down a bit, at least to where it’s manageable, though i’m sure that as soon as i leave here to head home shit will hit the fan again, because that’s just how my life works. but now that i’m finally here in italy it’s amazing. rome is such a fantastic city!! though i’ve been here less that 24 hours, but still! the food is delicious, super rich and creamy and cheesy, which is exactly what i was missing on paros. everywhere you look in the city there’s some ancient archaeological site or some gorgeous historical building decorated with classical statues modeled after those in greece.

being back in a huge city like this though has definitely taken some adjusting too. after being on a small island in the aegean for three months where you see the same people day after day and you can get anywhere you need to with a 20 minute walk, this is a lot to take in. the drivers here are crazy! there are crazy christmas lights everywhere flashing and strobing for effect. the buildings are huge and imposing.

these past two days have brought so much change into my life, but i’m trying to just roll with the punches and enjoy what time i have left here in europe!!

one last group shot before the three of us headed out on the ferry

one last group shot before the three of us headed out on the ferry

saying goodbye to my lovely girl emily

saying goodbye to my lovely girl emily

blurry besties with hannah darling

blurry besties with hannah darling

one last celebration before i left the island!

one last celebration before i left the island!

